越南:給孩子們的電腦

5歲的越南小男孩Khang*,為勢所迫,幾乎可說是山窮水盡。

Khang的父親在獄中去世,對一個5歲小孩來說,這是難以理解的。他母親為了維持生活,在街頭出賣色相。她最終覺得生活實在太艱苦了,最後拋棄了Khang。

最後,一個照顧面對危難的兒童的慈善團體收容了他。Khang住在該慈善團體屬下的兒童院,該院收到國際十字路會的一批物資,當中包括電腦、文具和衣物。同住的「兄弟姐妹」,都是因為雙親未能照顧他們而在院中居住。他們的父母可能是癮君子、流浪者、或只是因窮困得無法養活他們。

在越南的非政府機構員工說:「我們鼓勵這些小孩要胸懷大志!」

每個小孩背後都有一段辛酸故事。然而出奇地,他們的未來得到救贖。其中一名員工表示,可能沒有其他人鼓勵過他們,他說:「我們鼓勵這些小孩要胸懷大志!」

現年15歲的Khang希望成為會計師,目標是在一所跨國銀行工作。如果他隨母親繼續流落街頭,恐怕連上學的機會也沒有,甚至連活命都成疑。但今天,Khang絕對有機會去實現夢想!

孩子們每週有兩次黃金機會上電腦課,課堂上,他們會學習富家子弟視之為理所當然的電腦技能。他們所用的手提電腦和桌子,全是我們去年運送去的。

與不同的非政府機構合作是我們的榮幸,像越南這一家機構,為對抗貧苦,努力幫助有需要的兒童改變未來。

*名字已改動

您想贊助運送一批物資嗎?

您想收到一批物資嗎?

貝寧:協同效應 創造奇蹟

...

閱讀更多 ...

為烏克蘭及羅馬尼亞提供防護裝備

聯合國2020年度報告指出:「新冠疫情導致烏克蘭推面臨數十年來最嚴重的衰退,所造成的蕭條將進一步把最弱勢的社群推到谷底。」烏克蘭的前線慈善機構親證當地的困境,夥伴Mission...

閱讀更多 ...

敘利亞兒童失去了的童年

...

閱讀更多 ...

在喀麥隆戰亂中展現出勇氣

疫情何價:難民需要被忽視  隨著各國集中資源對抗冠狀病毒疫情,容易忽略難民以及受戰火蹂躪難民的困境八歲...

閱讀更多 ...

Vietnam: Computers for children

Vietnam_kids_on_the_floorAt just 5 years old, Khang*, of Vietnam, had almost no way to ‘make it’ with the options life had left him.

Khang’s father had died in prison: a concept that, at 5, he could hardly understand. He and his mother lived on the streets where she, through prostitution, had tried to earn enough to take care of him. Eventually, though, she found life overwhelming and abandoned Khang.

The little boy ended up in the care of a charity that provides shelter for young ones in crisis. Crossroads shipped a container to the charity that runs Khang’s home, including goods like computers, school supplies and clothes. His ‘brothers’ and ‘sisters’ in the home are there because their parents, too, cannot take care of them. They may be drug addicts, homeless or simply too poor to manage another mouth to feed.

 “We encourage these kids to dream big!” NGO staff member, Vietnam

Each one of the children’s backgrounds is a tragedy. Amazingly, though, their future has been redeemed. “We encourage these kids to dream big,” said one of the staff, perhaps because nobody else has told them they can.

Khang, now 15, wants to be an accountant and work for an international bank. Living on the streets with his mother, it’s unlikely he would ever have gone to school, or even survived. Today, though, Khang has every chance of achieving his dream!

Vietnam_students_in_school

The children receive a golden opportunity twice a week: computer classes, where they learn the sorts of skills that their wealthier schoolmates take for granted. The computers they use are laptops from the shipment we sent last year, as are the desks they sit at!

It’s a privilege to partner with NGOs like this one in Vietnam, who are actively working to fight poverty and change the futures of children in need.

*Name changed

Want to sponsor a shipment?

Want to receive a shipment?

Crossroads Foundation Hong Kong

Give Now!

Donate to a shipment like this one.

DONATE MONEY

Donate Goods!

Want to donate goods for a shipment like this one?

DONATE GOODS

Israel: Relief for vulnerable communities

While Israel is a developed nation, with high literacy, the gap between rich and poor is significant. The region’s most vulnerable,...

read more ...

Bangladesh: Improving women's and children's health

Improving women's and children's health Bangladesh’s Cox’s Bazar District has recently seen a massive influx of refugees from nearby Myanmar/Burma, where violence...

read more ...

Ivory Coast: Training and education for women and youth

Training and education for women and youth After their independence four decades ago, the nation of Ivory Coast gained a reputation as...

read more ...