七位無名英雄

十字路會走訪沙田一家社區服務中心,跟進收取捐贈的家具和電器的事宜,七位單身媽媽已經在中心等候,雖然靠綜援生活,又要照顧孩子,生活殊不容易,但我們見面時,她們有說有笑,有說不完的話題。

她們細說過去八年來,如何共同進退,互相扶持,互相共享和勉勵。已屆中年,教育程度和技能不一,她們當中有的找不到兼職工作,無法掙到足夠收入持家,擺脫依靠綜援過活,只好靠社會福利過日子。

但她們不會只呆在家裡怨天尤人,她們決定要開闊自己的眼界,看看如何為社區出力。她們定期支持一群境況更不幸的失明人士,帶他們外出,為他們送上友誼和幫助。

能夠幫助這群充滿愛心的婦女,為她們的家送上電腦、電飯煲、微波爐、毛巾、衣服等等,實在十分的高興。其中一位收到一盞檯燈,晚上可以看書,而不滋擾家人,她高興得不得了。有的收到微波爐,可以節省煮食的時間,更好的照顧孩子。

儘管自己處境困難,也不忘互相扶持,幫助別人,我們深受這些人鼓舞。「說真的,沙田七位出色的婦女,絕對值得欽佩,」十字路會一位和她們都見過面的員工說,「女士們,謝謝你們!謝謝各位無名英雄,為有需要的人伸出援手!」

 

 

 

 

貝寧:協同效應 創造奇蹟

...

閱讀更多 ...

為烏克蘭及羅馬尼亞提供防護裝備

聯合國2020年度報告指出:「新冠疫情導致烏克蘭推面臨數十年來最嚴重的衰退,所造成的蕭條將進一步把最弱勢的社群推到谷底。」烏克蘭的前線慈善機構親證當地的困境,夥伴Mission...

閱讀更多 ...

敘利亞兒童失去了的童年

...

閱讀更多 ...

在喀麥隆戰亂中展現出勇氣

疫情何價:難民需要被忽視  隨著各國集中資源對抗冠狀病毒疫情,容易忽略難民以及受戰火蹂躪難民的困境八歲...

閱讀更多 ...

Seven silent heroes

The seven single mothers were waiting in a social service centre in Shatin when Crossroads staff visited to follow up on the furniture and electrical appliances they had received from our warehouse. Living on social welfare benefits, and with children to care for, these seven women don’t have an easy life, but when we met them, they were laughing and smiling, and eager to talk.

They spoke of how they have banded together, over the past eight years, to support one another, share with each other and encourage each other. Middle aged, with varied levels of education and training, some of them have found it difficult to find part time jobs that would allow them to earn enough to support their families without assistance, so they rely on social welfare payments to survive.

Instead of staying at home, though, and dwelling on their difficulties, the women decided they wanted to look outwards, at what they could do for the community. They regularly support a group of blind people, who live in even more difficult circumstances than themselves, and take them on outings giving friendship and support and helping how they can.

It was a joy to be able to support these women, who have such huge hearts for those around them, with some of the goods they needed for their own homes: computers, rice cookers, microwaves, towels, clothes and more. One woman was excited to now own a reading light, being able to read books in the evening without disturbing the family.  Others were happy to receive a microwave, so they can prepare food quickly and save time to work or to take care of their children.

We’re inspired to see people in such difficult circumstances turn to support each other and their neighbours in need, even with what little they have.  “Truly, these wonderful women in Shatin deserve praise,” said a Crossroads staff member who met them. “Thank you, ladies, for being seven silent heroes who are helping a world in need!”

Crossroads Foundation Hong Kong

HELPING LIGHT THE DARKNESS

The BBC calls if ‘the worst refugee camp on earth’. A camp on the far-flung island of Lesvos, Greece, seen by...

read more ...

7,000 brand new toys for Christmas

The quantity was astonishing: 7,000 brand new toys, donated through our Global Hand service by a leading toy manufacturer. NGOs across...

read more ...

Excelsior Hotel close equips HK social enterprise

It was the end of an era when Hong Kong’s beloved Excelsior shut down in early 2019. As their doors closed,...

read more ...

Helping equip Ukrainian maternity facility

"Finally, the repair of our maternity hospital is finished," wrote our colleagues in the Ukraine. "Your beds are in refurbished rooms...

read more ...